You can pause or discard a test at any time while recording. Pausing gives you up to 5 minutes to take care of something, while discarding lets you end the test without submitting or uploading your recording.
How to pause or discard a test on desktop
When viewing any task, click the "Menu" button. There you will see the options to either pause or discard the test.


Sometimes we need a minute to grab some headphones, close a door or let a family member know we will be busy during a test. Tests can be paused for up to 5 minutes while recording, after that, they will be automatically discarded.
If you want to discard your test, you can do this by clicking on "Discard test" button.
When doing your qualification test you're able to record a new qualification test from another website. You can also discard your qualification test and retry before the final upload.
When you discard a paid test, you won't be paid for it or be able to retake it because it's important that you haven't seen the site before testing.
How to pause a test on IOS and Android
If you leave the Userbrain App, your recording will be paused automatically. If you come back, you can resume your test. Please be aware that sometimes due to device limitations, a test may automatically be discarded if you leave the Userbrain App for extended periods of time.
How to discard a test on iOS or Android
When viewing any task, click the "Menu" button. There you will see the options to either pause or discard the test.

